Tags

, ,

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I’ve been getting myself into a bit of a pickle about this post.

Firstly, these amazing chocolate things weren’t cooked by me but by my sister-in-law Anna (I did however watch closely, take piccies, duly note the recipe and then eat them afterwards.) Secondly, I had wanted my first post-Hungary recipe post to be on something a bit more authentically Hungarian and these certainly don’t fall into that category. It’s a French recipe, they were cooked by my Austrian sister-in-law, and we happened to be in Budapest at the time. So in fact, the Hungary link is completely incidental. Lastly, I can’t decide whether these are a pudding or a cup-cakey-muffin thing. It really does depend on how long you cook them. So, having been seduced by chocolate delights of such exotic provenance, all the while being entirely confused about what to call them or what category to put them in, I will press on anyway because really it’s just a bloody good recipe that deserves to be shared. And Anna didn’t mind either, even after all the jokes about posting pictures of her muffins on the internet.

The other thing is, I genuinely learned something new in the process of this. I am not a baker, see. I enjoy cooking but, if I can get away with it, I will avoid baking. Friends who come to stay for the weekend will testify that dessert is rarely offered and afternoon tea will probably be shop-bought. This is partly because I really haven’t come to grips with the alchemy of baking. But what I learned with these gorgeous, soft, rich delicious things is that the less flour you add, the richer it will be. And of course that makes so much sense and something just fell into place for me. Made mostly of chocolate, butter, eggs and sugar, and just a few tablespoons of flour, it’s no surprise that these are so moist and rich. As for the pudding vs cake point, if you eat them as soon as they come out of the oven, the centres will be soft and oozy (hence more puddingy). Leave them to rest for a bit while you finish your lunch or dinner and the inside will gently cook through but only ever so slightly (hence more cupcakey).

The best thing about them (apart from being French-cooked-by-an-Austrian-in-Hungary-whilst-being-watched-by-an-Australian), is that they’re easy and quick which is huge bonus for a non-baker.

And I will definitely be doing these to wow our next batch of guests.

Promise.

================================================

Ingredients and Method (all in one baby, that’s how easy they are. Makes about 12)

1.  Pre-heat oven to 190 degrees Celsius. Melt 200g of good quality dark chocolate with 200g butter together in a bowl over a saucepan of boiling water.

2. In a large bowl, whisk up 5 eggs with a fork.  Add 240g of sugar and 3 tablespoons of flour. Lastly, add in the slightly-cooled melted chocolate and butter combine all ingredients.  No electronic mixing required.

3. Spoon the mixture into muffin cases in a muffin tray and cook for 22minutes.  Eat immediately for a softer centre, or wait for a bit for something more cooked-through but still soft and lovely. Anna took them out of the oven half way through lunch and they rested til we were ready and they were still lovely and soft but not quite oozing.