Well bloody hell it’s January.  I’ve been dreading January because it means I really do have to get going with this blasted veg patch.  It’s not that I don’t want to, it’s just that I’m starting from a point of ‘zilch knowledge’ and feel like there’s a long road ahead.   I’m going to document my journey from ‘zilch knowledge’ to hopefully knowing a little bit more by the end of the year, right here.

So, if you’re thinking of getting a veg patch going by the spring, I suggest you follow this journey with caution.  Successes, and failures, will be patently obvious by the end of the year. And hopefully recording it all will be a good future reference (most likely of what NOT to do).  Minnie has of course offered lots of help and advice though she did warn me that she’s a serial cutter of corners.  I like her style.

So anyway, this week I started thinking about things. I pulled out my lap top, laid out all the veg-related paraphernalia that I got for Christmas (new ‘Vegetable Gardner’s Bible’, Veggie Gardener’s Calendar with what to do each month, River Cottage gardening manual), and decided to spend some time ‘coming to grips’ with things. All the books say it’s all about planning in January. Plan what to grow, where to grow it, when to seed etc. I resolve to spend Molly’s entire nap ‘planning’ and commit myself to project-managing the arse off this baby (my advertising career has got to come into good use at some point.  I can do a timing plan!!!)

Two hours, several cups of tea and many internet meanderings later, I had managed to order a few seed catalogues, made some attempt at a possible ‘list’ of things we want to grow and found out about lots of people that know a lot more than I do, in the internet world.  If I was playing Farmville (the highly addictive farming Facebook app), I would have nailed it all by now.

Still, at least I’ve got the catalogues in.  I will get inspired by them once they come in and,  in the meantime,  focus on getting veg beds ready (which, let’s face it, is the the bit I’m procrastinating about.  Who knew I was so work shy?!)