Tags

, , ,

I don’t like liver. But I do love pâté. And now I know why – to make one small bowlful, you use a whole block of butter! I had no idea. I hadn’t really thought about pâté like that before. It’s one of those things that I tend to buy once in a while when I feel like it, or have it when eating out or abroad. Anyway – it’s practically all butter. Hoorah!

This recipe comes courtesy of Darina Allen’s Forgotten Skills of Cooking and the product comes courtesy of Jamie, as I was just a casual bystander, gawping at the butter and waiting eagerly at the ready with a freshly baked sourdough loaf to try it out on.

I omitted spreading butter on my slice of bread first…

The Pâté

225g chicken livers

2 tablespoons brandy

225g butter

1 tblsp thyme leaves

1 large clove of garlic, crushed

Pepper

Clarified butter (more butter, hoorah!)

Wash the livers and remove any membrane or weird looking bits. Melt a knob of butter in a frying pan and gently cook the livers. The livers should be cooked through, but not allowed to go crusty on the outside. Put the livers in a food processor, and move on to the next step…

Deglaze the pan with brandy – and set fire to it (tip the pan toward the gas hob or just carefully use a long match). Add the crushed garlic and thyme, scraping everything into the food processor. Purée for a few seconds. Leave to cool.

Next add the 225g of butter and purée again until smooth. Season carefully and add more butter if necessary. The pâté should taste fairly mild and be smooth to taste. Pour into pots or one large bowl. Pour over clarified butter to seal the pâté in (clarified butter is created by gently heating butter in a saucepan and spoon away the solids from the surface).

This keeps in the fridge for five to six days.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.