Tags

,

So, a few weeks into preschool and things have started crumble. Molly absolutely loved it to begin with, and had no problem with me leaving her and didn’t have a bad word to say about it. Then she had quite a nasty virus over her birthday, which meant she missed a week of preschool and since then she’s not really wanted to go. She keeps complaining that it’s too loud there, and on Monday I was called up as she was apparently inconsolable. I stayed for the remainder of the session, and she was OK, but hasn’t exactly been looking forward to today’s class. So that brings me to today, we arrived a little later (hoping to avoid any loud excitement), and I tried getting her to play with things there and to play with the teachers. She would do that a bit, but as soon as I started to back away, she’d fling herself around me and her little face would start to crumple up with a new emotion. That of abandonment.

She did however, try and resign herself to being left, and so now I am at home worrying about how she’s getting on.

Anyway, this brings me back to today’s recipe, which is to replace the peanut butter biscuits as apparently we’re not supposed to smuggle nuts into preschool for fear of allergies. So, given that, what Molly would really like is chocolate, but I’m still holding on to the vague notion of mid-morning health (soon I’ll just send her along with a Mars bar), I thought I’d try my friend Meg’s recipe for chocolate chip oatmeal cookies. Meg made these for us well over a year ago, and they were the best cookies I’d ever tasted. I’m afraid to admit that even though she gave me the recipe ages ago, this was the first time I’d tried it – think I was put off by the American measurements (what the hell is a stick of butter anyway?).

Last night, with the able assistance of both Molly and Jamie (the chocolate chips seemed to be a bit less than a cupful, though Molly), we set to making the cookies. Amazing. Washed down with glasses of milk. Just hope the cookie will help de-crumple and crumble her little face today…

Ingredients – Makes 28 – 30 Cookies
1/2 cup (1 stick) plus 6 tablespoons butter, softened (this is just shy of 200g)
3/4 cup firmly packed brown sugar (all I had was golden caster sugar so only used this)
1/2 cup granulated sugar
2 eggs
1 teaspoon vanilla
1-1/2 cups all-purpose flour
1 teaspoon baking soda
1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
1/2 teaspoon salt (optional)
3 cups oats
1 cup chocolate chips

To Make:
Heat oven to 350°F (this is 176.6c – I just had to guess as our oven isn’t terribly accurate, and they needed four minutes more baking time). In large bowl, beat butter and sugars until creamy. Add eggs and vanilla; beat well. Add combined flour, baking soda, cinnamon and salt; mix well. Add oats and chocolate chips; mix well.

With hands, form little balls, then squish down into rounds and place on baking paper on a baking tray.

Bake 8 to 10 minutes or until light golden brown. Cool 1 minute on tray; remove to wire rack. Cool completely. Store tightly covered. Eat with milk!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.